Villan to rent with Pool copyright.


Maison du Monde
Capestang, a little piece of paradise
Three bedroom house with pool and private cinema.  
Maison du Monde
Capestang, a little piece of paradise
Three bedroom house with pool and private cinema.

Visitor reviews

Maison du Monde is an absolute gem, located in the heart of the beautiful village of Capestang. The house has been lovingly restored, keeping some of the original features and combining them with the modern facilities required for a great stay. The kitchen comes supplied with every utensil that a budding cook may need and the facilities are perfect. The TV room/lounge comes equiped with a very large number of books and DVDs that my kids really enjoyed taking out to the converted cave, which is now a fully functioning cinema complete with original cinema seats. The bedrooms are of addequate size and the three bathrooms/showers are perfect for a large family. The outside space was heaven and gave our family a safe and secure area to play in. The pool area of which the picture do not do justice was fantastic for lazing around in private surroundings. Maison du Monde is situated in the heart of the beautiful village of Capestang, minutes away by foot from the main square, Canal du Midi and 2 supermarkets. This is a fantastic part of the world and we have spent many years coming here. Beverly is a great host and is always on hand to answer questions and queries that you may have. The house has been converted by someone who loves this place and you can feel it as soon as you walk behind the imposing gates. We can not recommend Maison du Monde highly enough and we hope this review is helpful to anyone coming to stay here. We look so forward to returning in the future and Thank Beverly and her team for everything.


Evan & Brendan, Dublin, Ireland J

uly 20th  2013 for a month.


Just to let you know that we have returned after 2 wonderful weeks staying in your lovely house.

Everything was as described and we wanted for nothing.  Marianna was there to greet us and nothing was too much trouble for her.

She is a delightful young girl. It was the first time in many years that I was not looking forward to leaving for home.We loved Capestang and could quite easily have stayed for a month!. We would certainly recommend your property and hope to return in the future.

Best regards

Bob and Geraldine



Just a quick note to say thank you so much for the use of your beautiful house last week. We thought the place was delightful - everything we needed and more and such a characterful and charming house

We also loved Capestang. This was our first visit to this part of France and we really loved it

I hope Mallory found the key we left ok? - we waited for her until nearly 11 but had to go then as we had a canoe trip at Roquebrun booked. I therefore locked up and left the key under the watering can as I couldn't find a letterbox! I left her a voicemail on her phone to let her know so hopefully she found them ok

Thank you again for a lovely stay. We would love to return some time

August 2013



Our week in Capestang was wonderful, Beverleys house was a perfect accomodation in the center of Capestang where we had close to a fantastic market that was two a week, that was also good was that there was a deal at close quarters and even an ATM on the corner which was important to us. There were also several restaurants on near the hous which was perfect for us as did tours every day and wanted to have dinner near our accommodation. The house we rented was amazing in many senses and we enjoyed just being there. Our warmest testimonials. it felt like coming home every day we came to the house after our excursions.our week in Capestang was wonderful, Beverleys house was a perfect accomodation in the center of Capestang where we had close to a fantastic market that was two a week, that was also good was that there was a deal at close quarters and even an ATM on the corner which was important to us. There were also several restaurants on near the hous which was perfect for us as did tours every day and wanted to have dinner near our accommodation. The house we rented was amazing in many senses and we enjoyed just being there. Our warmest testimonials. it felt like coming home every day we came to the house after our excursions.

Swedish guests June.



We loved this house the moment we opened the door. The photographs do not do it justice. The pool is bigger than we had expected and it was a comfortable 23 degrees .The house is spacious and beautifully furnished. It has everything you could possibly need, including a great library of books, DVDs and videos for all ages. We loved the location of the house as it is so close to the village square and also the canal.
The property was spotless and we were looked after by the lovely guardienne Marianna who could not have been more helpful and our kids adored. Beverly the owner had provided us with loads of really useful information before we arrived which helped us make the most of our stay.

We loved the delicious offerings from the Boulangerie, river swimming at Roquebrun, market mornings in the square at Capestang and at Narbonne, where Les Grandes Halles, food market is definitely worth a visit. We even got to see the Tour de France when it passed close by.
A super holiday, one we would love to repeat.

Sheridans July 2013



Terry, July 2011

Highly recommended

Review Submitted: September 17, 2011Date of Stay: July 2011

Having spent 25 years renting holiday homes in the wilds of the French countryside this was a bit of an experiment, it went well.
Instead of a 30 minute round trip for bread & croissants it was 2 minutes,when I realised I'd forgotten the charcoal for the BBQ it took a minute to repair my embarrassment from the mini supermarket, no one had to get up early to go to the market - it came to you, and instead of one glass of wine in a restaurant it was a bottle. (Though I'm not sure that last one was really a good thing?).

The house was decorated to high standard and the kitchen had everything, but most importantly the beds were comfy. Also there was enough room to lose all 3 children, late afternoons often saw one watching a movie on the big TV, another on their laptop in the lounge utilising the wifi to talk with friends back home on facebook, or chilling by the pool, or catching the last rays of the day in the courtyard.

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area and we had great days out to Carcassonne, Montpellier & Narbonne(don't miss the fantastic indoor market). There are many of places to taste wine if you are so inclined, I recommend "Domaine de la Provenquiere", ask Mallory for directions.
The village has a couple of bars and several restaurants, our favourite was "Le Provence", at the bottom of the square.

In conclusion, great house, great holiday, may well go back in the future.


Home from Home

Review Submitted: August 1, 2011Date of Stay: July 2011

We had a thoroughly enjoyable time in Maison du Monde. All the home comforts and more. The house inside and out is well maintained and equipped. The location in the centre of Capestang is excellent, 2 minutes to the bakers for fresh bread in the morning. The main square at one end of the street and Canal du Midi at the other - great for early morning runs followed by a cool down swim in the pool. There are lots of lovely places to visit nearby, pity we only had time to visit a few. The beach at Vendres is beautiful and quieter than Valras. Carcassone well worth a day trip. We'll definitely recommend to friends and would love to return. Thanks to both Beverley and Mallory in Capestang for all the tips and recommendations before and during our stay.


Peter, Sweden June 2011

Location, location & atmosphere!

Review Submitted: July 4, 2011Date of Stay: June 2011

Smack dab in the middle of Capestang - a wonderful little town near Beziers - with the nice square and dominant church in one direction and the Canal du Midi in the other. It's perfect whether you like to sit in a hammock outside the café and sip a glass of rosé or you prefer to jog for an hour in the shade along the tree lined river bank.
The house has two separate courts. One with a pool, a dining area and a quirky cinema (!) and the other with a summer kitchen/barbecue.
It's great to have two totally different outside areas, depending on mood and sunshine.


The house is quite big and the master bedroom is a joy to live in. And if you like to cook - everything you need (and then some) is in the cupboards and drawers of the kitchen. The property is surrounded by high walls and feels totally private, although it is located by a small but busy street. As a base for your Languedoc experience, Capestang is IT. And I don't think we could find a better house in town. Certainly not an alternative with a more service minded, positive and responsive owner (and that goes for her local right arm, neighbor and "caretaker" too!).
Top-notch.

Ricky T

Cardiff

Ricky T

Cardiff

Exceeded our expectations

Review Submitted: October 26, 2009Date of Stay: September 2009

Having only stayed 3 nights we wish we'd stayed for 2 weeks. The house is perfect and the pictures just don't do it justice, it's an idyllic property furnished with everything you need. The courtyard is perfect for barbecues and even has a covered outside eating area.

If the house wasn't enough the owners are some of the most helpful and accommodating people I've ever met. I couldn't recommend this enough, my only advice would be to take a car if staying a week a more to explore the nearby towns.


Review Submitted: September 17, 2009 Date of Stay: August 2009

12 of us stayed for 2 weeks in this lovely house with views over the village of Capestang. The house was very well

equipped & beautifully decorated & furnished. It now has its own 12 seater cinema in the Courtyard and was within a few minutes' walk of the Canal du Midi. there are a couple of supermarkets a short drive away. Capestang is a lovely village with its own square; we really enjoyed wandering down to get fresh bread & croissants each day, or perusing the market twice a week. There were some lovely bars & restaurants nearby. The people are friendly and the owner of the house was extremely helpful & knowledgable about the area.
We visited Carcassonne, Narbonne and cycled to Beziers along the canal. We spent a lot of time messing about in rivers which are very clean and very beautiful.
We would love to go back some time!


Mr & Mrs Midlands, Leicester

Honeymoon

Review Submitted: August 2, 2009Date of Stay: June 2009

Myself and ny husband stayed at the above property in June for our honeymoon. The location was excellent as we were minutes away from the town centre in one direction and the canal du Midi in the other. The village itself had several restaurants, a local shop and a supermarket, all within walking distance. There is a number of english who either live or holiday in Capestang which means there's a real sense of community and we were made to feel very welcome.

The property has been beautifully restored and was extremely clean and well maintained. The owner went our of her way to make us feel at home. There were excellent cooking facilities (in and out with the BBQ) so you could have a night in if you wanted to. It really did feel like home from home!

The beach is a 20 min drive away, although you could quite easily spend your days lounging by the pool!, and a day trip to Carcassonne is a must. The journey is about a hour but the roads are easy and there is some beautiful scenery. Carcasonne itself is a beautiful medieval walled city, there are some lovely shops on winding streets up near the castle and numerous restaurants too.

We would definately recommend this property to friends and family and hope to return ourselves at some point in the future.